5 Years On

5 years ago today Canterbury was hit by a magnitude 7.1 earthquake. We were lucky and very few people were killed or injured in this large quake, the one that followed on February 2011 was much worse. The September quake happened at 4.35am and I still remember it far too well as I foolishly tried to get to my children; bouncing off the walls as I tried to get to their rooms. I thought this would be a good time to look back at some of the images I took of my home town Kaiapoi the morning after the quake – a lovely spring day as it happened. These were taken with my first DSLR and going back to them was interesting but brought back a lot of memories.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

 

 

3 thoughts on “5 Years On

  1. You photos tell the story but the emotions you must have felt in the dark trying to get to your children is not something easily forgotten.

    • Not something I would wish to relive although we were lucky and had only a little damage, many others are still living with the consequences. At least in Kaiapoi things are looking up, lots of new buildings and things are definitely getting better now.

Leave a Reply

