Moodscapes and the Unreal

I am currently reading Moodscapes by Rebekka Guðleifsdóttir, I hope the spelling and Icelandic characters are correct! I have been following her work off and on for a few years on Flickr, always interesting and I was curious to see what she had to say. I am yet to finish the book but so far I am enjoying it. Quite a lot of it is not new ground but it is never a bad thing to be reminded about the things to think about when making an image. I like that it covers both digital and film but I think some of the Photoshop examples could have been improved with a few more details or screen shots – I worked it out but people getting started with Photoshop would find it harder I think.

Along with the instruction and information there have been a few good ideas to try out, one of which was thinking about combining bits of different landscapes – and waterfalls in particular. I happened to have a waterfall and landscape to hand…

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

This started out as these two images.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

6 thoughts on “Moodscapes and the Unreal

Leave a Reply

