More or less literal?

My trip to Pines Beach yesterday was in the middle of the afternoon, the light was very average, certainly not what would normally be termed good light for photography. The golden hour is traditionally held to be the best time to take landscapes. Of course that is only true if you intend to make classical landscape images. My intention however was to get some long exposure black and white seascapes. I took a few standard images just for curiosity and to see what the exposure was like.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

1/400s @ f/8 ISO 100 50mm

and perhaps something more in the format I intended for my finished images.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

1/60s @ f/11 ISO 50 112mm

I would describe these as fairly literal seascape/landscape images, perfectly okay technically given the available light but not really very interesting.

Things start to get more interesting with a longer exposure, the movement of the water is captured, making the image more dynamic and interesting, this for example has just a bit of movement in the water.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

2.5s @ f/8 ISO 100 50mm

 Once the exposure gets even longer things become much less literal and more abstract, something I often like to do with seascapes.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

30s @ f/10 ISO 100 122mm

30s @ f/10 ISO 100 155mm

I will have some more images tomorrow, and some thoughts on B&W versus colour.

2 thoughts on “More or less literal?

  1. Beautiful long exposures and thank you for including the first couple of ‘normal’ shots for comparison. I can’t believe each time I get to the beach (which is infrequent these days) I forget to take long exposures. Maybe next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

