Before and After

I had a request to show yesterday’s image before conversion to monochrome, it seemed like a good idea and I thought I would add another comparison as well just for good measure. The more I look at the images the more I like the monochrome versions, although I do have a bias to monochrome anyway so it may just be me.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Thoughts and opinions are welcome. The monochromes were processed with Nik Silver Efex Pro 2 and were intended to be contrasty if that is a word.

6 thoughts on “Before and After

  1. THANK YOU! I hesitated to ask for the original photo because I had no idea how a great photographer like you would respond to that request. I was a little nervous. 😉 However, the title of your blog has the word “learning” in it, and that encouraged me. Based on my limited experience, I believe the original photo has more details on the trunk than it was showed here. But, even with extra details in the original photo, I can see you were right that “monochrome helps to emphasize the shape and texture of the trees, color feels like a distraction”. Before reading your blog today, I thought a good candidate photo for monochrome is the one that has different light (shade?) on it. Now I know better. Thank you for the lesson!

    • I have a long way to go before I am great, but thank you 🙂 There is lots of information on line on taking B&W, general things like make sure you have a real black point and a real white point is a good idea as a starting place. Using Live View on your camera can be useful, most cameras have a B&W mode and that should work in Live View, that way you get to see in B&W which helps. Or just use your phone with a B&W filter, it helps to learn to see in B&W by giving immediate feedback 🙂

      • I do read a lot online articles and watch many YouTube tutorials. I appreciate people taking time to write or produce those educational stuffs. But once in a while I like to hear what Master say 😉 Thanks again.
        Last week when I toured France, once in a while, I would hold my iPhone against the window, so I could see the scenery in both color and B&W.

  2. I love before and after posts. It is a great way to see a photographers artistic interpretation post picture snapping. I like the depth the monochrome images offer. The trees really stand out as the focal point. The color images are subtle and yet powerful if you stop and look for a bit. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

