A More Natural HDR Look

I have been playing with my first HDR/Tonemapped image to see how I can get a better and in this case more natural look. Having read through Trey Ratcliff’s excellent HDR tutorial I started looking at mixing in one of my original images to get a better appearance to the sky which was a little grey (a common problem). The new version I think looks a lot better:

The hardest bit was using a Layer Mask in Photoshop Elements – and that wasn’t hard. The colours are certainly much better than my first attempt and the whole scene looks much more natural. My first very quick and dirty attempt follows:

PhotoWalk_2010-03-04_19-03-22_PhotoWalk_2010-03-04_19-03-22_DSC_9918_©RichardLaing(2010)_tonemapped_©RichardLaing(2010)

Comments and suggestions are always welcome.

Leave a Reply

